Eighth Meeting of the IAI Conference of the Parties (CoP) July 19-20, 2001 Panama City, Panama

Action List

Day 1: July 19

- 1. The CoP elected the following members as the Bureau for its Eighth Meeting: Ricardo Anguizola from Panama as Chair (and Bessie Vasquez as alternate), Katia Gilaberte from Brazil as First Vice-Chair, and Mimi Breton from Canada as Second Vice-Chair.
- 2. The CoP approved the following as members of the CoP-VIII Accreditation Committee: Louis B. Brown from the USA (Chair), Carlos Ereño from Argentina, and Eládio Zárate from Costa Rica. The Committee Chair informed the CoP that 12 delegations provided the official accreditation, required for the delegations to participate in the meeting. They were: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Jamaica, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, the USA, and Venezuela.
- 3. The CoP approved the agenda of its Eighth Meeting (document: 2_CoPVIII/DWD/July 16, 2001) with two modifications to the section of the agenda that deals with July 19, 2001:
- The presentation on "Indicators of Support for Science and Technology in the Americas" (Ernesto Fernandez Polcuch) preceded the presentation on "Sustainability Science and the IAI" (Lisa Farrow Vaughan);
- The presentations of Ernesto Fernandez Polcuch and Lisa Farrow Vaughan should precede the presentations of the Parties and the Observers.
- 4. The CoP approved the Report of its Seventh Meeting with three modifications (document: 4_CoPVIII/DWD/May 2001):
- ▶ Item 17 of the Report (in both the English and Spanish versions) should be removed;
- In item 20 of the Report, the references to the Election of the EC Members and the EC Bureau should be revised as follows:

In the English version on page 12, where it reads: "The CoP approved the period of the new EC Bureau, starting September 1st, 2000, and expiring at the CoP meeting of year 2002." the text should read: "The CoP approved the term of the new EC members and its Bureau, starting September 1st, 2000, and expiring at the ordinary CoP meeting of year 2002".

In the Spanish version on page 11, where it reads: "La CoP aprobó el periodo del la nueva Mesa Directiva, que comienza el 1 de setiembre de 2000 y expira en la reunion de la CoP de 2002." the text should read: "La CoP aprobó el periodo de los nuevos miembros del CE y su nueva Mesa Directiva, que comienza el 1 de setiembre de 2000 y expira en la reunión ordinaria de la CoP de 2002".

In item 20 of the Report, delete the final sentence of the last paragraph that deals with the Election of the EC Members and the EC Bureau.

In the English version, the sentence to be deleted is: "The CoP requested the Standing Rules Committee to define the roles of the EC Vice-Chairs and present them at the next EC meeting."

In the Spanish version, the sentence to be deleted is: "La CoP solicitó al Comité Permanente sobre Reglamentos que defina los roles de los Vicepresidentes del CE y los presente en la próxima reunion del CE."

- 5. The CoP elected the following to serve as the IAI Director Selection Committee: Carlos Ereño (Argentina), Antônio MacDowell (Brazil), Bárbara Garea (Cuba), Margaret Leinen (USA), Rudolf Romer (Venezuela), and the future SAC Chair.
- 6. The CoP approved the Proposed Selection Process for the IAI Director (document 25_CoPVIII/DWD/English/June 8, 2001).
- 7. The CoP decided to hold its next meeting in February/March of 2002, instead of June/July of 2002, because the IAI Director's contract terminates at the end of March 2002 and the Parties need to elect a new Director prior to that date.