Ref: IAIUYDIR/2020/024 27 August 2020

## NOTIFICATION

Subject: Results of the elections to the Executive Council, the SAC and the SPAC during the 28th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the IAI

Dear Madam, Sir,

I am pleased to inform you that the 28th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the IAI (CoP-28), which was held on the 19 August 2020 via videoconferencing elected the following members to the Executive Council:

2020 - 2022

Canada, Chile, Jamaica, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, United States of America, Uruguay

The United States was elected as the Chair, Panama as the 1st Vice-Chair and Uruguay as the 2nd Vice-Chair to the Executive Council.

Elections were also held for membership in the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) and the Science-Policy Advisory Committee (SPAC) of the IAI:

## Nominees elected for membership in the SAC

Dr. Tereza Cavazos
Center of Scientific Research and Higher Education (CICESE), México
Area of expertise: Climate variability, physical oceanography
Appointment: 2017-2020, 2020-2023
(nominated by the Parties)

Dr. Inés Camilloni Universidad de Buenos Aires Area of expertise: Climate change and variability, air quality Appointment: 2020-2023 (nominated by the Parties)

Dr. Alexander Turra Instituto Oceanográfico, Universidade de Sao Paulo Area of expertise: Marine Ecology and Coastal Management Appointment: 2020-2023 (nominated by the SAC)

Dr. Patricia Balvanera Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Area of expertise: Biodiversity and human well-being Appointment: 2020-2023 (nominated by the SAC) Dr. Jean Paul Metzger Universidade de Sao Paulo

Area of expertise: Landscape ecology and biodiversity conservation

Appointment: 2020-2023

(nominated by the Associates of the IAI)

Dr. Michelle Scobie (alternate member)

University of the West Indies, Trinidad & Tobago

Area of expertise: International law and environmental governance, tourism, climate, biodiversity

Appointment: 2020-2023 (nominated by the SAC)

Dr. Mercy J. Borbor (alternate member)

Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral, Ecuador

Area of expertise: Coastal marine resources, climate, health, risk management, urban ecology

Appointment: 2020-2023 (nominated by the SAC)

## Nominees elected for membership in the SPAC

Dr. Brigitte Baptiste (Chair)

Chancellor
Ean University
Colombia

Appointment: 2014-2015; 2015-2017; 2017-2020, 2020-2023

Dr. Walter Baethgen

Director

Regional Program for Latin America and the Caribbean

International Research Institute for Climate and Society (IRI)

Columbia University, USA

Appointment: 2014-2015; 2015-2017; 2017-2020, 2020-2023

Dr. Javier Gracia-Garza

**Director General** 

Science and Technology Branch Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Appointment: 2015-2018, 2018-2020, 2020-2023

Dr. Evelia Rivera Arriaga

Professor Investigator of Ecology, Fisheries, and Oceanography

UNDP-INECC, Instituto EPOMEX-UAC Appointment: 2017-2020, 2020-2023

Karen de Oliveira Silverwood Cope

General Coordinator for Ocean and Antarctic Science Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Brazil

Appointment: 2020-2023

Dr. David Smith

Director of the Centre for Environmental Management

Coordinator of the Institute for Sustainable DevelopmentUniversity of the West Indies, Jamaica

Appointment: 2020-2023

Dr. Vaughan Turekian Executive Director, Policy and Global Affairs Division U.S. National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine Appointment: 2020-2023

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Dr. Marcos Regis da Silva Executive Director

Mor f/