

INTER-AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR GLOBAL CHANGE RESEARCH

37th Meeting of the IAI Executive Council Mexico City, Mexico 12 August 2014

Action list

XXXVII/1

- 1. The EC approved the Agenda of its Thirty Seventh Meeting with the following modifications:
- •The report of the Scientific Advisory Committee was postponed to the end of the afternoon session.
- ·Maria Uhle, representative of the US will present the report of the Financial and Administrative Committee instead of William Smith.
- ·New item: report of the meeting of Funding Agencies, held on 11 August 2014.

XXXVII/2

2. The EC approved the reports of its 35th and 36th meetings.

XXXVII/3

3. The EC decided to create a committee to recommend candidates to the Science-Policy Committee (SPAC). Members of this committee are Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico, Paraguay, and the US. This committee will recommend 6 candidates from an original list of 24 candidates suggested by the Directorate. According to the ToRs, the SPAC will be composed of 9 members (3 elected by the Directorate, 3 by the CoP and 3 by the SPAC itself). However, in this first occasion, since the SPAC does not exist yet, 6 positions will be nominated by the CoP and appointed for only one-year term. This will allow an additional year for all IAI member countries to identify candidates and participate in the nomination process. Members of the SPAC can be renominated.

The three SPAC members nominated by the Directorate nominations are: Luis Basterra (Chamber of Deputies, National Congress of Argentina), Yolanda Kakabadse (International President of WWF) and Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz (Science Director of FAPESP, São Paulo, Brazil). Their term of appointment is three years.

XXXVII/4

4. The EC decided that the members of the committee to review the CVs of nominees to the Scientific Advisory Committee would be Argentina, Chile, USA, and the SAC

Chair and the Director for Science Programs as members ex officio. The committee will take into consideration the need for extraordinary extension of the terms of appointment of the SAC Chair and one SAC member to maintain continuity on the SAC.

XXXVII/5

5. The EC decided to renew the charter and composition of the Financial and Administrative Committee (FAC) for the next two years.

XXXVII/6

6. The EC accepted the Core Budget request for 2014-2015 and will forward it to the CoP for approval.

XXXVII/7

7. The EC accepted to forward the proposed changes in the level of Country Contributions for 2014-2015 to the CoP for approval.

XXXVII/8

8. The EC accepted the Financial Report and the Financial Statements for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2014, and will forward them to the CoP.

XXXVII/9

9. The EC decided to recommend that the CoP renew the term, and allow for a possible modification of the structure and terms of reference of the Implementation Committee for the Tripartite Structure of the IAI.

XXXVII/10

10. The EC strongly encouraged that all IAI member countries broaden the representation of the groups of interest beyond the representatives' institutions, following the example of Uruguay National IAI Committee.

XXXVII/11

11. The EC encouraged member countries to promote agreements for global change research between funding agencies, considering the funding model that is being developed by the group of funding agencies that met on August 11. Member countries can also participate in funding IAI science programs.

XXXVII/12

12. The EC accepted the report of the Committee for the election of SAC members recommending the reelection of José Antonio Marengo Orsini and Rodolfo Dirzo for a second term, and the election of Trevor Platt (from SAC nominations); and Carlos Joly (from CoP nominations) The committee also recommended that the term of Frank E. Müller Karger be extended for two years to help with the continuity of SAC activities. The report will be forwarded to the CoP.

XXXVII/13

13. The EC accepted the report of the Committee to recommend 6 candidates for the SPAC. The nominated members are: Boris Graizbord, Bob Corell, Brigitte Baptiste, Emilio Moran, Walter Baethgen, Maria Netto Schneider, and alternates Janet

Ranganathan, Anthony Clayton, and Max Campos. The report will be forwarded to the CoP.

XXXVII/14

14. The EC decided to forward the following items to the CoP: Actions 3, and 6 to 13.