

INTER-AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR GLOBAL CHANGE RESEARCH

Ref: IAIUYDIR/2023/22

18 June 2023

NOTIFICATION

Subject: SAC and SPAC nominations received and elections procedures

Dear Madam, Sir,

The deadline for the submission of nominations to the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) and Science Policy Committee (SPAC) has expired.

Nominations

For the <u>SAC vacancy</u> to be filled by nominations from the Parties, the following nominations were received:

<u>Argentina:</u> Pedro Laterra

<u>Chile:</u> Laura Ramajo

For the <u>SAC vacancy</u> to be filled by the IAI Associates no nominations were received.

For the three <u>SPAC vacancies</u> to be filled by nominations from the Parties, the following nominations were received:

<u>Ecuador:</u> Inty Arcos

<u>Colombia:</u> Gilma Mantilla

<u>Brazil:</u> Carlos Joly Please note that the number of nominees equals the number of vacancies, considering the SAC alternate member vacancy. Parties may consider to accept all nominations of candidates who fulfill the requirements. Nevertheless, an ad-hoc committee to evaluate and recommend candidates, open to all Parties, will be established during the first day of CoP-31, on 21 June 2023. The committee will meet at a time to be determined and will make recommendations to CoP-31, including which one of the two SAC candidates should be considered for the alternate member vacancy.

Curricula Vitae of nominees are available on a web page on the IAI website at: <u>https://www.iai.int/en/post/detail/Nominees-for-SAC-and-SPAC-CoP-31</u>

The letters from the Chair of the SAC and from the Chair of the SPAC with recommendations for your consideration on criteria that may be used during your selection of candidates are available here: <u>https://www.iai.int/admin/site/sites/default/files/nt-2023-11-en-annex.pdf</u>

Please do not hesitate to contact Ms Soledad Noya should you have any questions regarding the above procedures.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,

(Anna M Stewart

Dr. Anna Stewart Ibarra Executive Director