

INTER-AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR GLOBAL CHANGE RESEARCH

Ref: IAIUYDIR/2024/13 8 May 2024

NOTIFICATION

Subject: Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) nominations received and elections

Dear Madam or Sir,

Article VII, The Scientific Advisory Committee, paragraph 2, of the Agreement Establishing the Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research, states:

The Conference of the Parties shall elect six Scientific Advisory Committee members from nominations received from the Parties; three from nominations received from the Scientific Advisory Committee itself; and one from nominations received from the Institute's Associates. These members shall be scientists recognized internationally for their expertise in areas relevant to the objectives of the Institute, ensuring broad sub-regional, regional, and worldwide representation, as well as representation from a variety of disciplines relevant to global change research.

The deadline for the submission of nominations to the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) has expired.

The Parties, the Associates, and the SAC nominated their candidates to fill four (4) vacancies in the SAC: two (2) SAC members, Anahí Urquiza and Omar López, were nominated again by the Parties to serve a second term; the SAC nominated Dr. Mercy Borbor for a second term, and three (3) nominations were received from the Associates Future Earth, FAPESP, and Instituto Alexander Von Humboldt to fill one (1) available vacancy.

The elections will take place during the next meeting of the Conference of the Parties (CoP-32), 22-23 May 2024, via videoconference, in accordance with the Agreement Establishing the Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research and the Standing rules of the Conference of the Parties to the Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research.

Selection criteria and Curricula Vitae of the nominees can be consulted at the following link: https://www.iai.int/en/post/detail/sac-nominations.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Anna Stewart Ibarra Executive Director

(Anna M Stewart