Members of the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is composed of ten members elected by the CoP. These members are scientists recognized internationally for their expertise in a variety of disciplines relevant to global change research.

As the main scientific advisory body of the IAI, it makes recommendations to the Conference of the Parties regarding the Science Agenda, long-range plans and annual program of the Institute. The SAC also leads the peer-review system for scientific proposals and results of IAI funded programs.

Composition of the SAC as of June 2018

Reynaldo Victoria(Chair)
Area of expertise: Agronomy, soils, plant nutrition
Appointment: 2016-2019

Elena Abraham
IADIZA (CONICET-UNCuyo-Gob. de Mendoza)
Area of expertise: Desertification, drylands
Appointment: 2016-2019

Edwin Castellanos (Chair)
Universidad del Valle de Guatemala
Area of expertise: Ecosystem ecology, adaptation
Appointment: 2015-2018, 2018-2021

Tereza Cavazos
Area of expertise: Climate variability, physical oceanography
Appointment: 2017-2020

Michelle Grunauer
Universidad San Francisco
Area of expertise: Health, environment, medicine
Appointment: 2017-2020

Carlos Alfredo Joly
Universidade Estadual de Campinas
Area of expertise: Biodiversity
Appointment: 2017-2020

Antonio Magalhaes
Centro de Gestão e Estudos Estratégicos
Area of expertise: Sustainable development, economy, drylands
Appointment: 2014-2017, 2017-2020

Mariana Meerhoff Scaffo
Universidad de la República
Area of expertise: Ecology and water quality in shallow lakes and streams; trophic interactions, effects of climate warming and other global changes on freshwater
Appointment: 2018-2021

Joshua Tewksbury
University of Washington
Area of expertise: Biology, ecology
Appointment: 2016-2019

Members of the Science-Policy Advisory Committee (SPAC)

The SPAC was established by the CoP in 2013 to provide advice to the CoP and the IAI Directorate regarding the application and design of science in policy and decision making

SPAC composition as of June 2017 (IAI CoP-25)

Brigitte Baptiste(Chair)
Instituto de Investigación de Recursos Biológicos
Alexander von Humboldt, Colombia
Appointment: 2014-2015; 2015-2017; 2017-2019

Walter Baethgen
Regional Program for Latin America and the Caribbean
International Research Institute for Climate and Society (IRI)
Columbia University, EEUU
Appointment: 2014-2015; 2015-2017; 2017-2019

Javier Gracia-Garza
Director General
Science and Technology Branch
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Appointment: 2015-2018

Maria Netto Schneider
Inter-American Development Bank (IADB), USA
Appointment: 2014-2015; 2015-2017; 2017-2019

Evelia Rivera Arriaga
Appointment: 2017-2019